Advisory center
Get the free help from Foundation leading Advisory Centre in choosing a nursing home >>

Hoehn and Yahr Staging of Parkinson's Disease

Disclaimer: The information and reference materials contained herein are intended solely to provide background information. They were written for an audience of physicians. They are in no way intended to constitute medical advice. For medical advice a physician must, of course, be consulted.

Hoehn and Yahr Staging of Parkinson's Disease
Stage One
1.  Signs and symptoms on one side only.     
2.  Symptoms mild.     
3.  Symptoms inconvenient but not disabling.     
4.  Usually presents with tremor of one limb.     
5.  Friends have noticed changes in posture, locomotion and facial expression. 
Stage Two     
1.  Symptoms are bilateral.     
2.  Minimal disability.     
3.  Posture and gait affected. 
Stage Three     
1.  Significant slowing of body movements.     
2.  Early impairment of equilibrium on walking or standing.     
3.  Generalized dysfunction that is moderately severe. 
Stage Four
1.  Severe symptoms      
2.  Can still walk to a limited extent      
3.  Rigidity and bradykinesia
4.  No longer able to live alone     
5.  Tremor may be less than earlier stages. 
Stage Five     
1.  Cachectic stage
2.  Invalidism complete
3.  Cannot stand or walk
4.  Requires constant nursing care
This rating system has been largely supplanted by the Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale, which is much more complicated.

Terms of use of the website | Regulations of the Advisory Center | Regulations for the provision of services

Copyright © 2021 POINT GROUP 2016,